Latest News

Virginia Hit and Run Charge: Va. Code 46.2-894, 46.2-896, 46.2-895

What is a hit and run charge in Virginia? Hit and Run involving an attended vehicle: According to Virginia Code § 46.2-894, the driver of any vehicle involved in an accident where someone is killed or injured, or where an attended vehicle or other attended property is damaged must stop near the scene of the accident, without blocking traffic, and report their name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number to either the police, the person struck and injured if the person is capable of understanding the information, orRead More …


When Your Business Receives a Subpoena Duces Tecum

A subpoena duces tecum is a formal legal document instructing the recipient to produce certain identified documents, computer files, or other physical items. Virginia Code § 16.1-89. Subpoena duces tecum; attorney-issued subpoena duces tecum. A judge or clerk of a district court may issue a subpoena duces tecum pursuant to the terms of Rule 4:9A of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia except that such subpoena may be directed to a party to the case as well as to a person who is not a party. Typically, aRead More …


Virginia Driver’s License Offenses

Driving Without a License in Virginia, Va. Code § 46.2-300 According to Virginia Code § 46.2-300, it is against the law for any person in Virginia to drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, passed the examination, and obtained a valid driver’s license. Penalties: • Driving without a license in Virginia is a class 2 misdemeanor. A class 2 misdemeanor holds a punishment of up to $1,000 in fines, up to 6 months of loss of license, andRead More …