What is Driving without a license in Virginia Code?
“It is against the law for any person in Virginia to drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, passed the examination, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid.”Va. Code § 46.2-300
Should I pay the ticket that the police officer gave me?
Driving without a license in Virginia is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A class 2 misdemeanor holds a punishment of up to six months in jail, up to 90 days of license suspension, and up to a fine of $1,000. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor which could mean up to 12 months in jail, up to 12 months license suspension, and a fine up to $2,500 in fines.
In other words, you should not just pay the ticket that you received. You should fight this charge as it carries long-lasting consequences.
Should I get an attorney?
Yes. Driving without a license is a misdemeanor in Virginia. A criminal record cannot be expunged in the state of Virginia so if you are convicted of this charge, it can have an impact on several different parts of your life from security clearances, immigration issues, to job applications. Contact us today for a consultation.